Wednesday, December 05, 2012

Dayton Flyers preview

Here is their official write-up of the game tonight. Note that Dayton has won 6 straight against SEC opponents (beat the Barn earlier this year by 10 at home). Dayton is 6-2 with losses to Colorado in Orlando and at home to Weber St....


Dayton has a balanced scoring attack with 4 starters averaging over 10PPG. Kevin Dillard leads the team in scoring (13.9) and in 3pts (percentage and total shots). Devin Oliver leads the teams in boards and tied for steals (with a paltry 9).

Team stats
- 46.2% FG
- 37.9 3pt FG
- +2.2 rebound margin
- 68.3 PPG

They have four 6'9" players that see action, but only Josh Benson needs to be watched on the offensive end. Their backcourt is small, but quick. I don't think we have a guard that can post up, but if we did I'd like to see that happen a couple times in this game (Randolph is the only one from memory I've seen do this).

On paper this is a good match-up for us, but we need to see if the team is over the heart-breaker in Cincinnati. Also, Engstrom and Steele are out of this game so with 8 scholarship players I suspect we'll see Dakota Slaughter eating up some minutes to rest our guards.

A note for Nick Jacobs- STAY OUT OF FOUL TROUBLE. We only have Gueye to back him up. While Pollard has come along nicely the last few games, we can't be depending on his as a 'big man' yet.

Tip-off is 9PM EST (8PM CST/7PM MST/6PM PST) on CSS and on espn3 (watchespn.com).

No comments: